(36,820 Views)

Hightail Desktop Application for Windows - Feature Introduction and Account Information

 

Hightail Desktop Applictaion  For Windows - Feature Introduction and Account Information

 

Supported platforms and system requirements

 

Q: What platforms are supported?

A: Windows XP (SP3), Vista (all editions), and Windows 7 (both 32- and 64-bit).

 

Q: What are the minimum system requirements to use the Hightail Desktop App?

A: On a supported platform you need:

  1. At least 512 MB RAM.
  2. Free storage on your computer equal to your Hightail quota.

 

Sign up/Login

 

Q: Can I use an existing Hightail account to login to the Hightail Desktop App?

A: Yes, you can login to the Desktop App using your existing Hightail account.

 

Q: Can I login with my Yahoo! ID?

A: Currently, we do not allow login to the Desktop App using Yahoo! ID. 

 

Q: Can I create a new account (free or paid) using Hightail Desktop App?

A: Starting release 2.0, you can sign up a free account through the Desktop App. You will need to create a paid account by visiting Hightail.com and clicking on the sign-up link.

 

 

Hightail Folder

 

Q: How do I access the Hightail folder on my desktop?

A: There are five ways to bring up the Hightail folder in Windows Explorer:

  1. Double-click the Hightail shortcut on the desktop.
  2. Double-click the Hightail icon (blue and green folder) in the system tray.
  3. Click Start > Programs > Hightail Desktop App > Hightail folder.
  4. Open Windows Explorer and under Favorites, click the Hightail folder icon.
  5. Click Computer in Windows Explorer in Windows 7, and then click Hightail. If Hightail does not appear under Computer then you need to enable viewing of hidden folders. Start by clicking Organize in the Windows Explorer toolbar, next click Folder > Search Options, then under the General tab, in for Navigation section, select Show all folders, and click the OK button.

Q: I added some files and/or folders to the Hightail folder. How do I know the content is synced online?

A: You can always force a sync action by clicking on the Hightail icon in the system tray and selecting Synchronize now. All files and folders when completely synced are marked with a green checkmark icon at the bottom left corner of the file and folder icon.

 

Q: How do I disable desktop notifications?

A: Click on the Hightail icon in the system tray and select Hide Notifications. Once selected no notifications will be shown to the user. To enable notifications again, go back to the system tray icon and select Show Notifications.

 

Q: As a Lite (Free) user what am I allowed to do with the Desktop App?

A: All actions are allowed including adding, deleting, and modifying files in private and shared folders where you have Read & Write access. In addition you can create shared folders, invite others, and specify and change user permissions to the shared folders right from the Desktop App.

 

Q: Someone shared a folder with me but it does not appear on my desktop? (pre 2.0 release)

A: Before a shared folder shows up in the desktop you need to accept it by clicking on the shared folder invitation email. If the folder has Read & Write permissions it will be synced to the desktop after you accept the folder. NOTE: Currently we do not sync Read Only folders to the desktop. If a folder has been shared with you, and you only have Read permission on the folder, then that folder will not be visible in your Desktop App. The Desktop App is designed for folders that have Read & Write permission.

 

Q: What are the folders with lock? What does the lock mean?

A: Starting release 2.0, we’ve added a future to sync Read Only folders to the desktop. A folder with a lock indicates that it is a Read Only folder that someone else has shared with you, and that you only have Read permission on the folder.

 

Q: If I don’t want to sync all my folders in the cloud to my desktop, what can I do?

A: Starting release 2.0, you can select folders to sync in the initial login and setup flow after a fresh install, or through the app menu Select Folders to Sync after the initial flow. In the “Select Folders to Sync” window, you can view all your folders in the cloud and choose which folders to sync or not to sync by selecting or unselecting the folders.

 

Q: How do I share a folder with others?

A: Simply access the Hightail folder on your computer and then right-click on a private folder that you want to share. Next click Share using Hightail, and under it click Invite users. A dialog box will appear, where you can type the email addresses of anyone you want to share the folder with, specify a subject and message for the shared folder invitation email, and select sharing permissions.

 

Q: What are the different permissions for accessing a shared folder?

A: There are two permission levels available through the Desktop App:

  • Read & Write: Requires sharees to login and allows them to add and delete files and folders. Sharees cannot invite others; the ability to add others is currently an owner-only action.
  • Read without login: Does not require sharees to login but allows them to view and download files. Sharees cannot invite others.
  • Read with login required: Requires sharees to login and allows them to view and download files.  Sharees cannot invite others.

Q: How can I remove sharees from a shared folder I created?

A: Right-click on the shared folder, select Hightail, and click Manage This Folder. A sharing dialog box with a list of all sharees will be displayed. You can select and remove sharees from the list.

 

Q: Will uninstalling Hightail App delete the content in the Hightail folder?

A: No, uninstalling Hightail App will not delete files and folders saved in the Hightail folder locally on your computer or Hightail servers. 

 

Q: I deleted a file, how do I recover it?

A: Just like any other file that is deleted in your computer you will need to go to the Recycle Bin in Windows to restore the file.

 

Q: Someone else deleted a file how do I recover it?

A: At this time, we do not support a way for you to restore a file deleted by someone else. You will need to contact the sharee who deleted the file to recover it.

 

Q: There were two versions of the same file created. Why?

A: Two versions are created every time there is a conflict. In other words, if two users open the same file and one user makes edits and saves the file and the other user also makes edits and tries to save, we create two versions of the file to avoid any data loss. For the version that has a conflict, we keep the original file name but append it with the name of the user who generated the conflict and sync the file across all clients.

 

 

Limits / Quotas / Notifications

 

Q: Do I need to pay for the Hightail Desktop App?

A: Hightail Desktop App is a free and available to all Hightail customers. Paid subscription provides additional benefits, including additional online storage.

 

Q: How much storage do I get in free and paid account?

A: Lite account comes with 2GB of free storage. Pro subscription comes with 5GB and Teams, Teams and Enterprise come with unlimited storage.

 

Q: Are there limits on the total number of files and folders in Hightail folder?

A: There is a limit to the number of files stored at any given level of the folder. Currently this limit is 1,000 files or folders.

 

Q: I have hit storage limit, how can I continue to use the service?

A: You will need to upgrade your account to continue using the service. Click on the Upgrade link to view and subscribe to a paid plan. If you are paid user please contact support.

 

Q: Why do I keep getting upgrade/storage notifications?

A: User account is put in an Over Quota state when the account crosses the quota limit. Quota notification is shown once every 24 hours alerting the user to either delete existing files or upgrade their account. User always has the option to Hide Notifications thru the Windows System Tray menu.

0 of 8 people found this article helpful.
Started ‎12-09-2011 by
Modified ‎07-03-2014 by
Categories
Hightail News & Updates
Announcing the Release of the Hightail for Outlook 2.0 (Beta) Add-in - Learn more.M