Kathleen

Editing Permissions for Shared Folders

by Community Manager ‎12-10-2013 09:00 AM - edited ‎12-10-2013 09:42 AM (753 Views)

Writing is an intensely collaborative art, and each person involved in the process of creating a piece of literature is a valuable asset to the larger whole.  Writer or not, you may use Hightail for your  collaborative projects in which you share folders with other individuals.   Hightail allows you to choose who you’re sharing access to specific folders with, without having to follow a maze of emails to keep track of what’s going on.  Changes to content within that folder are updated instantly for all viewers to access.

 

In order to maintain the organization of your folders, you need to keep track of who you’re collaborating with, and what permission levels are set for each users as they access the files within the shared folder.  Let’s do a walkthrough on how to manage and modify users and their permission settings for your shared folders:

 

Once logged into your Hightail account, click the Folders tab.  Please note that you can only manage the users of folders of which you are the owner. Next to every folder of which you are the owner, you will see the following icon:

1.png

  

While hovering over the folder you wish to control, click the Actions pull-down menu and select Manage.

 

2.png

 

Next, you can edit permissions to the selected folder. You’ll see a list of email addresses of users whom you’ve shared the folder with, whether or not the user has accepted your invitation to share the folder, the amount of access the user has to the folder (view only access or view & modify), and an icon to remove a user from the folder.

3.png

 

You will see the option to Require verification to view my files. Selecting this option means that only your intended recipients will be able to access this folder by logging in. If someone other than the intended recipient tries to access the folder, he or she will be denied.

 

Once you’ve made any modifications to these settings, click Submit to save your settings. If you’ve decided not to make any changes, click Cancel.  In the case where a user never initially accepted an invitation to a folder and is unable to locate the invitation in his or her email inbox, you can always remove the user from the folder, and then share it with him or her again. A new email invitation will then go out to the user inviting him or her to share the folder.

 

Never second guess whether or not you’ve sent an invitation to someone, whether or not they’ve accepted your invitation, or what access users have to your folders – all of this information is only a few clicks away with the Manage feature.

 

Stay tuned for our Feature Friday later this week!  We will walk through the scenario of an author sharing the Sugar Fairy Christmas Tale project with the editor, publisher, and illustrator.

Announcements
Check out this week's Tech Tip